Strange ULA prefix in stock Beryl

My stock beryl shows:

network.globals.ula_prefix='dd6d:4920:6bc5::/48'

which somehow also results in:

dhcp.lan.dns='dd6d:4920:6bc5:0000:0000:0000:0000:0001'

Which seems… strange / wrong; but I’m not an expert in IPv6.

Can anybody confirm this is right / wrong?

Thanks!

This format is correct, dd6d:4920:6bc5:0000:0000:0000:0000:0001 can be simplified to dd6d:4920:6bc5::1

Yeah, this I know. But considering this was hard-coded / computed; shouldn’t this be a local address (i.e. falling in fd00::/8)?

It would seem that whatever software computed the dd6d… address somehow derived it from a fd6d… one (which would be correct).

For sure, none of my devices belong to dd6d:4920:6bc5::/48

Ideas?

2 Likes

Same issue here with my GL.iNet White with firmware 3.201. My address range in not in the ULA range either. I got something in dd21. ULA has to be in fc00::/7. This is a factory-reset device, just with IPv6 enabled. Does anyone know where this is created in the source code? Looks like some bits got shifted or lost. The original OpenWrt code starts with fd always.

@alzhao can you tell us something?

Check this code

It changes fd to dd

That picture is from this OpenWrt wiki entry: NAT6. Which script in the world of GL.iNet triggers that; is that open-source?

I guess, that replacement was triggered because I changed (not in LuCI but in your Web interface) the IPv6 LAN mode from ‘native’ to ‘NAT6’ and then back again to ‘native’. In the native mode, such a ULA does not make sense and even confuses my LAN clients not to use the global prefix from upstream. Consequently, the issue report would be undoing that change when going back from ‘NAT6’ to ‘native’ in the GL.iNet Web interface.

Anyway, which script in the world of GL.iNet triggers that; is that open-source? If it is on GitHub, I could create a Pull request.

You can modify the script

/etc/init.d/gl_ipv6
1 Like