Advice for using my new usb modem with GL-iNet router

Hello, I just bought a second-hand huawei e1752 3g+ usb modem to use with my GL-iNet router.

I have never used a USB modem before and have just gone into a spiral of research that is probably completely unnecessary (hilink vs stick… flashing firmware).

So instead I thought I would just ask if anyone here has any advice to focalise my research on relevant information related to OpenWRT/GL-iNet and my particular modem.

Are there any quirks or issues to be aware of for instance?

The model I have is carrier branded, but perhaps not locked (should not be an issue I expect as it is for my carrier anyway). I have not yet received the sim card to use with it but the device shows in the GL-iNet firmware.

Am I supposed to update the modem’s firmware somehow?.. I see there is a SD card slot but all the information I can find is almost 10 years old, related to windows (I’m on linux) or related to specific carrier-branded models… Is the SD for some sort of mass storage option or do we need to flash firmware perhaps via SD?

Is it likely to just work as-is?.. Currently plugging it in does show that a modem is detected in the GL-iNet firmware.

Are there different options for running the device in different modes (hilink vs surfstick) and if so, which will be more efficient to use with GL-iNet firmware?

For this modem, can anyone point me to any ressources that will explain it’s features and how it works with OpenWRT/GL-iNet?

Any tips on using this modem - or even one with similar features will be most useful. Basically there is too much information and I’m not sure where to focus my attention to.

Thanks for any advice!

Set the modem to hilink and the set up like tethering

You may need to change the IP of the router to 192.168.10.1 from 192.168.81 because the modem use also 8.1 as its IP.

1 Like

Thank you for your answer @alzhao - I had already read the help page but thank you.