Flint GL-AX1800 Slow Wifi Connection Speeds

Hi all,

Received my Flint router today and have it all set up and updated to the latest stable firmware. But having issues with the Wi-Fi speeds. My older Asus router would have a speed of about 800Mbps but the flint seems to be about 34-100Mbps. This is both low on 2.4 and 5Ghz. Even if I stand close to the router I get about 400Mbps. I have it set up in the middle of our flat and only has 1 wall to go through to reach. Also have checked channels for any neighbours and all free of traffic. Is there something I am doing wrong? Any help muchly appreciated.

PS I am using Wifi 6 devices, eg Samsung S22 and PC.

Rob

I’m not an expert. But I’d imagine the power draw from the home router is likely higher than the travel router and because of this the antennas have a higher gain or dB and thus have greater ability to provider better coverage with faster rates. Just a guess

Thanks for the reply. Is this classed as a travel router? I bought it under the impression it was a home router to replace my current one with upgraded wifi 6 :face_with_diagonal_mouth:

I currently have it set up with modem attached and standalone router.

My mistake. I was speaking about the slate. Not the flint. Excuse my previous reply

What is the model of the Asus? I’d like to compare cpu / mem / power differences between the two

I have the ASUS RT-AC86U. I wanted something with Wifi 6 and the flexibility of OpenWRT, so bought the Flint device. Just hoping I can get the connection speeds up as I really like the device. I dont want to be running 2 routers as its only a small flat we live in. Thanks again for replies.

Wifi speeds of 34-100MBps over 5Ghz is really low for the Flint GL-AX1800, assuming it is on the same WAN connection as your Asus router. I suggest you reset the router to factory settings and start fresh. If it gives the same result, then I would return/exchange for another unit.