Mac Network

I have a GL-X3000 and use an iPhone and MacAir computer and have two 1TB Sandisk Extreme drives. But these are formatted in Apple’s APFS file system. It seems the GL-X3000 does not support this modern file system.

What is the best way for me to set up a network so that I can share files and back up my computer/phone?

If there is no way to use APFS I think backups may be impossible. Because even if I formatted one of my Sandisk drives as NTSF it still may not work with my MacAir APFS file system. I use Carbon Copy Cloner for backing up.

And what about a 1TB TF card? I’ve never used one of those before. My Sandisk Extreme Drives supposedly has speeds of 550M/s. It seems the fastest TF cards have speeds of 200M/s. When I do back ups, I never see speeds anywhere near that high. But on the other hand, I don’t want to buy a TF card and find it’s way too slow.

Thanks for any help

There is no way.

Quote from the OpenWrt wiki:

APFS was introduced in 2017 but there is currently no support for it in OpenWrt (nor in Linux).

This doesn’t help the OP, but actually for linux there is a paid driver called apfs-fuse by Paragon Software, but of more interest might be an open source apfs-fuse for linux on GitHub GitHub - sgan81/apfs-fuse: FUSE driver for APFS (Apple File System). But it hasn’t been ported to openwrt AFAIK. There is a fuse package in openwrt, so maybe someone with skills could port it, but even then it is still experimental, so I wouldn’t depend on it for important data like backups until it is more mature.

Thanks to @admon and @steep01 for the helpful replies. So backups using CCC (carbon copy cloner) are out of the question without APFS support. I accept that.

But there are other types of backups. Also my question was also about “the best way” to set up a network for file sharing using Mac OS.

Anyone?