MUDI Battery Charging

I’m an electrical engineer, so I’ve got a bit of background in this area, but obviously I don’t know what charging solution is being used in the MUDI.

Is there any way to disable the charging circuitry via software? It seems like there are a lot of power management ICs nowadays that have an input pin to enable/disable the charging functions and allow external power only. Does the MUDI have this capability?

It would be very nice to be able to manually disable the charger to allow it to be plugged in indefinitely. The warning on the box to not leave it charging unattended worries me a bit, but for a modern device, this should be easily managed.

The warning is fairly standard, and comes with any and all battery operated devices. It’s just the manufacturer covering their bases, because while the hardware should be safe for continuous charging, the IC might get damaged by a surge and cause a fire, in which case GL.inet can just say “sorry man, we told you not to leave it on the charger”.

Precisely. The charging IC should be protection enough in the Mudi, and Li-Ion batteries today are not as fragile as they were ~10 years ago. The chances of a fire are low, but not non-existent.

In fact, the charging IC should work in a way that while charging, the battery acts as a backup/UPS unit.

In fact, if it’s possible to turn the charging function on and off, I’d love to have that tied to the switch on the Mudi - it would make a lot of sense, you pick it up, and with a click enable charging the battery, or disable it.

Mudi has an all in one charger + voltage regulator + monitor, don’t remember if you can just disable charging.

If i remember correctly, while Mudi is plugged in, the battery is constantly being topped off, trickle charged, which is not the best for the LiPo’s, that is why it’s not recommended to keep it plugged in.