[Q] Code to verify and set Custom DNS

Hi!

As I’m new with openwrt then I would like to ask if someone could check and validate my code.

Goal: I look to verify a/o set my custom DNS if ever these are different
Implementation: I use the /etc/rc.local file to run my code at the end of the boot process
Devices: AR150 and MT300N-V2

Code:

#My required custom DNS address
cust_dns1='50.90.40.80'
cust_dns2='50.90.40.81'

#Retrieve the currently used DNS address
used_dns=$(uci get dhcp.@dnsmasq[0].server)
#Or  used_dns=$(echo $(cat /tmp/resolv.conf.auto | grep 'nameserver' | cut -d' ' -f2))

#Verify if the used DNS matches my custom DNS, if not then set and apply my custom DNS
[ "$used_dns" != "$cust_dns1 $cust_dns2" ] && {
uci set dhcp.@dnsmasq[0].server=$cust_dns1
uci add_list dhcp.@dnsmasq[0].server=$cust_dns2
uci set network.wan.dns="$cust_dns1 $cust_dns2"
uci set network.wwan.dns="$cust_dns1 $cust_dns2"
uci commit
/etc/init.d/dnsmasq restart
/etc/init.d/network reload
}

So far the code does the task, however I prefer to ask for validation so as to be sure that the DNS are set and applied correctly.

Thanks in advance

@luisblop

there are some problem in my test, maybe our network environment are different. my device is under a main router and use dhcp.

so there is a error when retrieve the currently used DNS address, like this:

root@GL-AR300M:/# uci get dhcp.@dnsmasq[0].server

uci: Entry not found

so I think is there a better way to get DNS?

Hi tangxiusi,

I use also the mini-router the same way with dhcp (router behind router), maybe the uci entry is a bit different in your device, I see you have an AR300M.

Can you please check your current uci dhcp values with the command “uci show dhcp”? Normally you should find one entry with your custom DNS address. Otherwise your device is not using dnsmasq to resolve public dns queries.