Sqm Flint 2

Hi Everyone,

I am new to openwrt and gl. Inet routers in general. I have just learned about bufferbloat and Sqm. I am having issues getting Sqm working on my new flint 2. I have a 1gbps download cable connection with 150mbps upload. I have a cable modem in bridge mode which is connected to the router. When I followed the online documentation, I ended up with half my speed and latency had gone up. After some reading it seems flint 1 customers had similar issues. I also read that the bridge connection may need Sqm enabled as well as the WAN. I am a bit confused now and would love to hear from some people who have gotten this working. I did disable the hardware acceleration btw when I was testing the Sqm.

SQM is quite difficult to configure because of the scenarios and type protocols.

SQM is very cpu intensive and unfortunately how higher the speeds how more the cpu has to work, therefor expecting a device going over 600mb/s is maybe too optimistic.

You might need to set a bigger overhead for your connection type, but if you use also wireguard things become even more complex, since it is a tunnel then only wireguard should be configurated, and when using split tunnels both, however the down side is you will expect bad latency on one of the two so you have to balance them out.

I guess I will sent my own sqm configuration as a helper :slight_smile: , this one should work on the Flint2.

my connection is FTTH(fiber) 400mb/s down and 400mb/s up, eth1.300 is my isp connection and wgclient wireguard.

config queue 'eth1'
	option ingress_ecn 'ECN'
	option egress_ecn 'ECN'
	option itarget 'auto'
	option etarget 'auto'
	option verbosity '5'
	option qdisc 'cake'
	option script 'layer_cake.qos'
	option qdisc_advanced '1'
	option squash_dscp '0'
	option squash_ingress '0'
	option qdisc_really_really_advanced '1'
	option eqdisc_opts 'nat dual-srchost'
	option linklayer 'ethernet'
	option linklayer_advanced '1'
	option tcMTU '2047'
	option tcTSIZE '128'