AR-150 WiFi failed

Hi

I’ve got GL-AR150 from aliexpress more than month ago and it worked for about 10 days before something happened with wifi and it can’t receive well anymore.

TX signal is still strong, but RX only about 40-50% when client is right next to the router. If client moves away more than 1 meter the connection drops.

At the time it happened there was another wifi interface running using USB card TL-WN722N, so is it possible that AR9331 somehow disabled LNA because of very strong signal from USB card? This seems logical to me as I can’t imagine why would there be a hardware malfunction.

Also if I compare RX signal strength from a client device, the AR9331 has about 40dB weaker reception than TL-WN722N which is exactly the same amount of signal loss I have with my other router that is not yet fully supported in openwrt trunk and has no LNA working at the moment.

Hopefully somebody here will know more. Cheers.

I’m no expert, but could you change the “channel” settings in the wifi settings and check?

can you change channel for the two different radio?

yes, tried changing channels for both radios, then disconnected and removed USB card completely, performed factory reset, flashed original firmware and reset device. still weak reception.

ultimately i tried erasing flash chip to program it again and got brick because stupid u-boot didn’t start webserver properly (should’ve used tftp and serial console).

i’ve unsoldered flash and connected another chip from tplink router, was able to flash everything back but the wireless issue remains. tried to measure resistance of inductors in tx/rx circuit right before antenna connector, got measured about 1.2Kohm, is that expected value?

Can you just tell me which component did you measure,if you measured the component L21,you should get a 0 ohm.
Maybe you can take a picture of your PCB,let us have a look at it.