AR-750 upgrade from MT-300 v2 no difference (openvpn)

Hi all, before I get into what I want to post I just want to say I’m no expert with these routers but have configured quite a few using the web gui to configure openvpn for family & friends.

I experienced an open vpn speed increase when upgrading from mt-300 v1 to the v2 which went from roughly 8mb to 12mb download using IPVANISH as a provider. Doing some research I read that the ar-750 was capable of up to 17 mb download due to its increased cpu speed.

I received the ar-750 last night and setup in the same way I configured the mt300 device and when testing I’m maxing out at the same speeds I was getting with the mt300v2 which is around 12mb.

If this router is capable of higher speeds what am I doing wrong that’s restricting the speed? I’ve noticed there are a load of processes that are enabled by default on the router, could they be using up processing power I don’t need as I’m only interested in this router connecting to a vpn to route my traffic through. I’ve tried various servers from different countries and the maximum I’ve hit so far is always 12mb download.

Thanks for your time in advance.

I am doing testing with various vpn providers and servers. AR300M an AR750 do achieve better speed but it is not always. The speed is limited by configurations and environment. Still trying to figure out a more better way to benchmark the devices.

Thanks Alzhao

I’ll be very interested in your findings. As mentioned I’m getting stable speeds of around 12mb which is plenty for now but the additional bandwidth would be useful.

I know the IPVANISH servers are capable of much more so won’t be the bottle neck. In case it helps with your investigations I live in the uk and BT is my provider. I have a 44mb download when bypassing the vpn.

if there is anything you would like me to try to aid in your testing please let me know.