Basic setup for the GL-AX1800

Hi, I am looking for some basic support for my router. I’m not an expert on this stuff so if my questions are basic, my apologies.

I live in NYC and want to set up a VPN router for when I visit Mexico. I want to use a NYC located server and make all of my connected devices to the router appear as if they are in NYC.

I am in NYC now, so want to set it up and test it. My plan is to set up a test here in NYC to show I am in Seattle. Here is what I did and I would like some advice:

I am using Surfshark. I have created a SEATTLE configuration file in Surfshark and successfully added it to the router. At the moment, I have the AX1800 router connected directly to the ONT. This has allowed me access to the internet. The way I validate my location is by doing a Speedtest and/or opening Google maps. Neither one of these options shows me in Seattle. They both show that I am in NYC pinging a NYC server. I have Wireguard enabled.

My questions are how can I better set this up? Also, will it be an issue if I set this up through another router vs the ONT unit?

I use https://whatismyipaddress.com and https://whatismyip.com to confirm.

The public IP address and their locations shown should be different with VPN turned on versus with VPN turned off. If they are the same, then VPN is not working and/or traffic is not going through VPN tunnel.

I do not work for and I do not have formal association with GL.iNet .

1. What Firmware are you using?
  2. Want to make sure this is the GL-AX1800 Flint Home router and not GL-AXT1800 Slate AX travel router?
  3. Are you connected with WiFi or Ethernet? (WiFi and bluetooth can give away location)
  4. Who is running the DNS? (surfshark DNS is encoded when using)

:gl_emoji_dizzy:I do not work for and I am not directly associated with GL.iNet :gl_emoji_shacking: