Dns leak, need some help please

Hi,

I will start by saying I’m no tech expert, and will need some layman type answers to help me fix my issue :slight_smile:

I am using a mango router whilst travelling around the world, I’ve been nomadic for a few years now. I am having a problem that my dns leaks. My set up is super simple, mango router connected to whatever WiFi my airbnb/hotel/rented apartment has. Connected to the router are my Android phone and a Roku. I use surfshark as my vpn provider, and have used both OpenVPN and Wireguard as the protocols for the router, get dns leaks from both. I’ve contacted surfshark support, and they’ve provided their dns numbers to insert as custom dns servers on the router. When I add these dns numbers and reboot, I’m then locked out of the admin page of the mango, and unable to connect to the internet.

If anyone is able to help me prevent these dns leaks would be greatly appreciated.

Why do you think your DNS requests are leaked?

A DNS request should go over the VPN. And if the request is leaked ‘behind the Endpoint’, this is not a Mango problem. It could be a security issue, but than just use a trustworthy DNS.
That is the reason why I’m asking what is your source of the statement. It is important to understand the issue.

Hey Lupus, sorry, I don’t understand what you’re asking, as I said, bit of a technical novice. I check the dns is leaking through a website that shows the dns location is different to my ip address.

I don’t think there is ‘a simple answer’. Maybe someone else could show I am wrong about this.

I do not understand, where do you expect your DNS location is?

1. Your room/appartment/airbnb has a ‘line’ to the Internet.
  2. There is somewhere a router, that is (often) getting a public IP.
  3. This router is providing a Cable or a WLAN for you.
  4. If you’d connect to this router, you’ll get IP information, mostly via DHCP.