[GL-AR150] Manual DNS created by NAS works in individual devices, but not in router

Hello there,

I have the following LAN:

LAN Topology

LAN Topology

I have created a private DNS server in the NAS, to access only local addresses like the GL-AR150, the NAS itself, the printer and so on…

When I set the NAS IP as my DNS in my computer, even when connected to the GL-AR150 wifi, private addresses work fine (so the NAS firewall is probably correctly set).
However, when I try to leave the computer’s DNS as default (i.e. what comes from the router), and set a custom DNS in the GL-AR150, private addresses do not work; the internet works fine though.
(I cannot change the DNS in the main router, because it is an ISP modem.)

I have the following settings in the GL-AR150’s Custom DNS Server:

• DNS Rebinding Attack Protection ON
  • Override DNS Settings for All Clients ON
  • Manual DNS Server Settings ON with
    - … .0.3 (the NAS)
    - 8.8.8.8 (as fallback)

I am just starting to learn more about networking concepts, so I cannot understand why it does not work. Does it have anything to do with port forwarding in the main router? If so, what should I do? If not, any ideas?

(Hey @Johnex, may I bother you to check if you know anything about this? Your help last time was really great!)

Thanks a lot,

When u use your ISP-Modem (should be a router actually) IP as upstream DNS in your NAS, then local DNS and internet-DNS will work with just one entry in your local computer.
I’m also using DNS-Server in my NAS (Synology) but i also have another DNS-Server which is running on a raspberry pi. This is called pi-hole. DNS-Server in my NAS provide DHCP (with some reservations) and is being 2nd DNS. 1st DNS is my pi-hole filtering adsense and local DNS + Internet-DNS.
I’m using also wireguard vpn running on a mango router, so i can use pi-hole filtering and dns also outside my home.

Hi @mozarella, thanks for the reply!