GL-AR750 and QoS with LuCI OpenWRT 18.06

I’m afraid I made a huge mistake.

Recently, I upgraded my GL-AR750, from LuCI LEDE 17.01, to OpenWRT 18.06

I do like the OpenWRT GUI, and I belie I understand this interface much better.

But please note that I am a beginner in everything related to openwrt, Linux, etc…

Anyway, I had managed to configure the QoS that suited me in the LEDE GL-AR750; in order to make some devices priority to others, but without using band limitation.

After de upgrade, I’m no more one LEDE, and I don’t find any QoS configuration, except de one in the “client” page (http://192.168.8.1/index#/clients)

But this one only provides band limitation.

And I don’t want to limit any device bandwidth, if there is no other (priority) device using bandwidth.

I don’t know coming back to LEDE.

I read about it, and it scared me.

And I don’t want to change, cause I like that OpenWRT.

But I need a good QoS service. Too many devices are connected on my DSL connection, and some use all the bandwidth while I would like to have 75% on the main computer.

I did find luci-app-qos, or others qos applications (?), but event with a tutorial, I’m not sure how to make it work, or what it will provide.

I connected to the GL-AR750 with WinSCP for the first time only 24 hours ago.

For example, I don’t understand what’s called “enabling the qos init script” and the rest here: https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/network/traffic-shaping/qos-tomerge

So… do you think someone can help me get a QoS configuration interface such as LuCI LEDE

Please ?

In the meantime, I’ll try… whatever I can find.

Hopping it won’t brick my router.

But that wouldn’t be the worst thing.

Thank you.

When you upgrade, you typically need to reinstall any packages you’ve installed that aren’t part of the ROM.

Do you have luci-app-qos and qos-scripts showing in your list of installed packages? If not, installing the first (the GUI components) should bring in the rest.