GL-INet and backdoors?

Hey there,

don’t want to start some flame war, but I saw this topic and have questions on it. What is the end of the story? It’s rather strange that it ends without any comment of the official site anymore.

Does nobody reproduced such behavior?

Cheers
glineter

My local Gl-Inet router are all tripple NAT, behind a Mainrouter and in a LAN with an OPNsense instance.
I don own the computing power to perform a 24/7 check, but my systems rarely complaining about a GL-Inet device. And if so, the traffic was always originated by an endpoint, not the router.

I am using part-time Rapid7 InsightVM. I have a snort instance with highly customized filters (no Windows detection, because I don’t own a windows) and shortly I started a Kali based Zeek (Suricata will follow) …
I do think something would pop up at some time. Even if I am only a hobbyist, I am not a network expert.

I could not confirm the observations from the post and I don’t see the mentioned proof. But I have it read all 42 answers.

There’s no flaming to be had here, my guy.

That thread is a sh!tshow. You had one chucklehead who doesn’t even know how to screencap, never mind read or get the logs, post histrionics. In all likelihood his client devices are riddled with malware/trackers.

Quote:
So far I’m only seeing suspicions in the first post, but up to now, nobody has been able to reproduce this issue.

Only one person ITT, as far I could see, had the sense to packet sniff:

JFC.

Like Hell you don’t: :wink:

:yawning_face: This was very long post to read before going to bed! :yawning_face:

Anyway, the guy has a claim without a proof. I believe most GL devices have stock openwrt (except the newer ones like Spitz AX). Paranoid customers can choose the stock one and that’s it.