GL-MT300A setup, usage and connection

I just purchased Smart router GL-Mt300A from Amazon and I am totally new in using a router.

My situation is that I am residing at a property with unsecured wi-fi connection, so I hope this router will help me access internet in the more secured way.

Questions:

1. if I use the repeater to bridge my wi-fi connection, does it mean I am first connecting to that wifi network, then it goes through the mini router, so upload and download to the internet is going one more step through the ethernet cable that hooked up to the router and my pc?

2. is there any way to setup a sublet from this wi-fi network, is that what WISP mode for?

3. when I set up a sublet, can I name my network and assign my own password so that will make it secured?

4. I am confused if I didn’t setup properly: my lan network with the mini router is GL-M7300a-xxx, I picked the name of the wi-fi network of the place where I reside, and put in their password, but when I click on the status of the connection of the Lan network GL-M7300a-xxx, it says it is connected. However, I am unable to assess any internet site or web page, it says no internet connection? Where did I do wrong?

5. I am using a USA Staples brand CAT6 3 feet streaming cable that supports 10 gigabit/s data transfer speed; and it is backward compatible with CAT5 standard. Is this ethernet cable compatible with the Smart router?

6. When do I need to put in your default password or key: goodlife?

Also, all morning 3.17 Sat US time, I was not able to access 192.168.8.1 or 192.168.8.1/index.html to try to look at the setup there?

Sorry a lot of questions. Thanks very much in advance for your help.

Let’s do the first step. Power on the router. Then you will find the default ssid which is printed on the bottom of the router. Connect to that WiFi and input “goodlife” as the password.

Then you will be able to access 192.168.8.1