[Help Needed] Web Server access

Complete noob here. I’ve setup a server that can be accessed via the internet, i.e. port forward setup.

The server is on the main network, NOT behind a VPN (I can’t setup port forwarding when it’s behind a VPN for some reason, but that’s a problem for another time).

• I can access my server via “domain.com” outside my home network
  • All devices except the server is behind a VPN on both main and guest network
  • DDNS for “domain.com” is handled on my router (luci)

Router information:

• Flint (GL-AX1800)
  • Version 3.214
  • Kernel Version 4.4.60
  • Firmware Version OpenWrt Chaos Calmer 15.05.1 / LuCI Master (git-20.356.08465)

My problem is:

1. When I access my server with a device connected to the same main network via “domain.com”, it didn’t really route through the internet but rather locally. I can verify that by checking the server log and the source IP of the request is 192.168.x.1, which is my gateway IP.
  2. When I access my server with a device connected to the Guest network via “domain.com”, I can’t even access it.

Any idea how I can fix this? Thanks.

Would appreciate if there’s a way that I can put my server behind the VPN as well.

The two problems, I am not sure why they are problems.

1. You connected to the router directly, of course the data goes locally. This is just normal.
  2. Guest network cannot access your private network because they are separated. So this seems the same problem as 1. because the data goes locally.

You want to put your server behind the VPN and still want it be access by the Internet, then you need a dedicated IP. Some vpn servie provider has this option.

Okay. If you are not aware what you are doing, it is okay to have a server in the LAN. Maybe it is okay to put it in the VPN. But it is definitely not a good idea to put it into the wild (aka Internet)!