Help with hardware for LTE Version Failover

Hi all,

I’m doing some research and I must admit, I’m a bit lost. I currently have a fiber optic connection at home. This provides connectivity for security system, as well as my home automation. Occasionally, my fiber optic connection will drop, due a storm, or a failure in the upstream network. When this occurs, I want to fail over to a Version LTE data connection. I’ve been looking at the devices, but it’s not clear to me if this is even possible. If it is, does anyone have an pointers to some documentation I can read to give myself a jump start?

I’m a software engineer, and I primary develop a distributed database, so I feel very comfortable with networking. However, the hardware side is a bit foreign, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Todd

Todd, the attached is mostly relevant in the US. It’s my cheat sheet, but it will help you understand what to look for in different markets

In the US there are basically 4 carriers. All the other vendors buy minutes on one or more of the majors networks. Each has their own set of bands. 3 have some overlap and 1 (sprint) does not. Vendors have accumulated towers and their hardware via acquisition and growth, and they have mixed technologies, but are targeting at a primary band for each carrier (17, 13, 4, 25).

The 3\4G cards do not cover all bands. That would be too easy, so you need to finds a card\device that matches the provider you want. Staying in one place makes this easier, but I have not found for a way to find out exactly what bands are in use where.

There is a Wikipedia page on providers List of United States mobile virtual network operators - Wikipedia that tells you for each provider what major networks they use.

It’s hard to find a plan with just data, but so far I think Straight talk has the best data only plan.

Unlimited Mobile Hotspot Prepaid Plans | Straight Talk Wireless. (Starts at 1GB/$15/m)