How to set up Stunnel?

I have a few different GL-iNet travel routers: AR300M, MiFi and the USB router.

Is there any way to run Stunnel on any of them, to run OpenVPN through?

I’m an OpenWRT newbie so any help would be appreciated, it’s overwhelming.

1 Like

Do you mean this: https://www.stunnel.org/

I actually don’t understand what you want to achieve.

Yes that’s what I mean. I’ve noticed some WiFi networks (hotels, airports) are very restrictive and don’t seem to allow even OpenVPN, so I am hoping Stunnel might help me start an OpenVPN connection in those places.

What hotel / airport have you found that you cannot start a OpenVPN connection? The only place I found that blocked everything but browsing was Boise airport in Idaho… I travel constantly and have never found another place blocking VPN’s.

I have had issues simply getting my AR300M connected and in WISP mode (occasionally it cannot see the hotel’s SSID and I have to set it up manually). Once I’m connected OpenVPN is typically not an issue…

Thank you all for opening this issue, with the Deep packet inspection in a lot of countries, the need for Stunnel increase. I figure out how to configure OPENVPN with Stunnel Server on my raspberry pi.

But to install the OPENVPN client With Stunnel in any of the GL-inet routers is my mystery.

Please help us with the Step by step configurations.

1 Like

What hotel / airport have you found that you cannot start a OpenVPN connection? The only place I found that blocked everything but browsing was Boise airport in Idaho… I travel constantly and have never found another place blocking VPN’s.

It happens all the time in international (non-US) hotels, and as you say in airports, mostly frequent flyer lounges.

If your can edit openvpn server configuration, you can use openvpn over stunnel. You should install stunnel ipk via opkg update && opkg install stunnel on router firstly. Then please see here.

2 Likes