How to write Script

Hey All, i’m a newbie and i don’t know yet how to write and execute script like in this thread

Is there a sticky thread for basic things like these?

Once I copy paste script in firewall rules. Other than that. I’m clueless. :joy:

Thank you very much for the response

Well first you need to connect to your router using SSH:

Using the WinSCP method there, you can make new files and edit them, pasting the script code into them, and then using Putty, run the commands.

1 Like

Nice. Do I really have to use Putty? Or I can choose only 1 program (WinSCP) to edit config files?

Both are OK.
But if you want to learn, use putty.

WinSCP can only upload and edit files (unless i have missed the commandline).

And Putty is the other way around, it can’t upload files, but it can do all commands.
That also means that its possible to edit and create files using commands and for example Nano, but you need to install Nano on your router by doing:

opkg update && opkg install nano

I personally use this method. Vi already comes installed on the device but i don’t really like it as an editor.

Very cool explanation. :grinning:

About Nano & Vi, can we use editor on the router itself to edit files using smartphone?

About Putty, can you show one or two simple commands that is useful in GLinet? Why use Putty in the first place? Why @alzhao said it can be used for learning?

Yeah Nano runs in the router. You can just download something like JuiceSSH if you are on Android to connect to your router, and then just type:

nano <filename>

(After you install nano)

You will then get something that resembles notepad but remotely, and you can type there, paste entire scripts, and then save the file using cntrl+o, and quit using cntrl+x.