Idiots guide to fast proxy/VPN services

Hey guys,

I’m not that technical, but I’m currently traveling abroad and working remotely. What I’m trying to do is make it look like I’m still back in the US (specifically in Florida). I’m trying to figure out the best solution that strictly does that without slowing down my internet too much.

I’ve tried a few VPNs (Surfshark and Nord), and the issue is that they slow down my internet speed too much which causes issues with the VOIP phone systems I have to use etc. Which means I have to leave the VPN off until the second I need it, I flip it on, then back off again which is a total pain. Also VPNs are known to cause issues with the CRM I’m using…

I’m less interested in security, just in changing my location for the purposes of some of the applications I use require me to be in my home state in the US (think DocuSign and things like that).

Any input would be great.

I’m using Mullvad.net as my wireguard VPN and it’s running without any issues.

But beware that VPN can be detected. So you should talk to your employee - because they have ways to check for it. When your location is pretty far from your real one, the speed will indeed decrease - this is by design.

You could cause your employer a lot of tax headaches if they do find out you were working outside of Florida, assuming that is where you generally reside. You may also be violating their policies. I would tread carefully here, it could cost you your job if your company is really strict.

Thankfully I’m the business owner, so that’s not an issue.

I would look into using Nord with Wireguard. I don’t think you will find a faster VPN connection than with Wireguard. It does have it’s limitations but WireGuard uses the latest encryption protocols (ChaCha20, Curve25519, BLAKE2s, SipHash24, HKDF, etc.), making it arguably more secure than older, more established VPN protocols.