Mango nowhere near max speed

Hi, I have a 500mbps ISP subscription and an ISP router supposedly capable of 1gbps, I have wired my ISP router to a Mango router which has a maximum speed of 300mbps. As my subscription is 200mbps over what its capable of I was expecting to see it reach the full 300mbps limit and yet behind multi hop wireguard I’m getting a peak maximum of 30mbps and with direct connection under no VPN I get about 75mbps maximum. Could anybody help me understand why this is happening? Thanks.

Mango has 100Mbps Ethernet.

2 Likes

“Max. 300Mbps Wi-Fi Speed”

That is where I got the 300 from, if I connected the Mango to the router wirelessly and used the Mango itself as a repeater could I perhaps get closer to the 300 area? Thanks

You can refer to articles about real world wifi speed How Fast Is a Wi-Fi Network?

By using repeater, the speed cut in half further.

1 Like

That sucks, I have never used one before but could it be worth buying an ethernet adapter which plugs into the charging port of my tablet (primary use device)

Or if I was to get a Slate AX could I possibly get better speeds whilst still using wireguard?

For sure. Mango is just meant for basic connectivity, and it’s amazing at that given how small and light it is.

2 Likes

Glad to hear it, do you have any estimated speed could reasonably expect from the AX? It certainly is a nifty gadget, I wish I knew about them years ago. I bought the Mango expecting for it to be too complicated but its surprisingly brainlet friendly :smiling_face:

For Slate AX, repeater (wifi to wifi), 2.4G could be up to 100mbps. 5G could be up to 300mbps
wifi to lan could be up to 600mbps