New User of GL-AR300M

First, and importantly, I love the GL-AR300M. Once it’s configured and working, it works incredibly well. I have two questions I need assistance with, however.

[1] Unfortunately, I didn’t realize it only does 2.4 G and not 5G for wireless. I should have checked a little better. That’s usually not an issue but I work in IT and from home and 3 days of the week, I go to our local coffee shop. Their router is only setup for 5G so I can’t use the GL-AR300M. Is there a 5G dongle I can connect that works well until the module is ready?

[2] My second issue is this. Are there any “shutdown” procedure / steps to follow after configuring the GL-AR300M? I’ve only had it a few days now and every time I power it up, I don’t see my configuration and have to reset it all over. This obviously isn’t going to work.

Thanks for any assistance on this!

Brian Hendrix

You can check around for other threads detailing their adventures using 5Ghz USB dongles, such as this one.

As for the second issue, typing reboot should issue a soft reboot on the OS, which should “properly” shutdown everything and start it again. I’ve never found this to be necessary though.

If that doesn’t work, I would try re-flashing the firmware.

Maybe your router is not booting into NAND, but NOR instead? The boot medium changing would obviously change the configuration, too.

Have you tried re-flashing the NAND firmware?

You can download the stock NAND firmware for the AR300M on GL-Inet’s firmware pages.

If I recall correctly, you should be able to flash the NAND firmware by booting into the Uboot Web UI and selecting the openwrt-ar300m-nand-2.22.tar file.

You can find details/procedures about entering the UBoot Web UI here.

That’s about all I can think of, maybe somebody else has some better insight on this issue.

After buying the GL-AR300M, it did say that 2.22 was available and I followed the menu and applied it. Does that firmware upgrade do both NAND and NOR?