OpenVPN: Route to server IP broken

I use the GL.iNet GL-MT300N-V2 with firmware 3.212-0407 in router mode.

Currently, I reside in a hotel with LAN and Wifi connection, and for the better or worse, the MT300N is connected to both, thus having two gateways.

I have configured an OpenVPN client that connects to my OpenVPN server at home. Then, I connect to the MT300N via Wifi from my laptop. This works except for one thing: I cannot connect to all the other services on my home server, e.g. the Web server. In other words, the public IP address of my home server is not routed properly. A traceroute yields:

traceroute to XXXXXX.org (XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
 1  console.gl-inet.com (192.168.8.1)  1.259 ms  1.634 ms  2.117 ms
 2  console.gl-inet.com (192.168.8.1)  2.083 ms  2.594 ms  2.741 ms

I’m no expert at traceroute but this seems to be a loop.

Note that when I use the laptop to connect to my home VPN, I’ve never experienced such problems.

What I already tried in the OVPN file uploaded to the mini router:

1. Setting “route <public IP> 100.115.0.1”, where the latter is the router’s gateway.
  2. Setting “redirect-gateway” (naked and with the def1 option).
  3. Setting “nobind”

My OVPN file looks like this:

client
dev tun
remote XXXXXX.org 443 tcp

(Then, the key and certificate follow in-file.)

And the server configuration is:

server 192.168.255.0 255.255.255.0
verb 3
key /etc/openvpn/pki/private/vpn.bronger.org.key
ca /etc/openvpn/pki/ca.crt
cert /etc/openvpn/pki/issued/vpn.bronger.org.crt
dh /etc/openvpn/pki/dh.pem
key-direction 0
keepalive 10 60
persist-key
persist-tun
duplicate-cn
mssfix 1200

proto tcp
# Rely on Docker to do port mapping, internally always 1194
port 1194
dev tun0
status /tmp/openvpn-status.log

user nobody
group nogroup
comp-lzo no

### Route Configurations Below
route 192.168.254.0 255.255.255.0

### Push Configurations Below
#push "block-outside-dns"  # Not supported by my client yet