OpenVPN Server/Client Install

I am trying to set up a pair of AR300-M’s as an OpenVPN Server/Client pair. I have used the instructions at [OpenWrt Wiki] docs:guide-user:services:vpn:openvpn:basic.

I am doing this after using the stock GLI firmware and the LuCi installation that comes with it. I am adding luci-app-openvpn.

I go through the OpenWrt instructions and then use LuCi-OpenVPN-app to learn about and observe the changes.

It isn’t working. I am trying to set up a TUN configuration with both of my 300M’s on the LAN side of my home router. My eventual goal is to be able to use the GLI DDNS and take my client router on the road as a TAP. (I may have this wrong) (I may have all of this wrong)

Does anyone have anything like this working? How? Is there a tutorial or a HOWTO I can follow? Advice appreciated.

I have no experience to set up as server.

The router works as client right away. You don’t need Luci-app-openvpn, which is client as well.

To set up as server, you may need to refer to general openvpn guide to do this. You need to generate ovpn files and certs. Maybe you need a Linux PC to do this.

You can not build the test environment with both devices behind the “Home Router”, at least I was never able to find any instructions to do so.

You want to have openvpn-ssl and luci-openvpn-app on both devices. You will probably not be able to use the GLI tools.

Lets call the devices AR300-M-client, AR300-M-server and Home-router. Assume both AR300 are set to default other than the the above packages and IPs. Set the AR300-M-client DHCP range to 192.168.10.x and the AR300-M-server to 192.168.20.x (choose your own, but make sure they are not the same and differ from the Home-router which we will assume is 192.168.1.1).

Connect the Ethernet cable from your ISP to the WAN of the AR300-M-client
Connect the Ethernet cable from your AR300-M-client’s LAN to the WAN of your Home-router