Settin up Beryl as server

I am not tech savvy at all and desperate for help! I have been trying to connect a Beryl to my home router (server) and then I want to connect a second Beryl as client, but I cannot even get pas the first step! I have tried it with both Open VPN and Wireguard but no luck. I have tried different values for the internal IP in the Firewall as well.

Firewall port forward: cc9 TCP/UDP wan 1 lan 70.77.7.32 1194 Enabled

WireGuard Server status: Allow Access Local Network
IP Address
Local Port

Management: |Name|Client IP|Configurations|Delete|
| — | — | — | — |
|Client1|10.0.0.2/32||

Cable

ProtocolDHCP

IP Address10.0.0.178Netmask255.255.255.0Gateway10.0.0.1DNS Server64.59.135.135

I will also attach a screenshot of the port forwarding done through my home router.

Please someone relieve me from my misery!

Ok - just to be a little more clear, you have two Beryl routers, one which you want to have at home acting as a VPN server, and the other you want acting as a client, is that correct? And you have Beryl 1 behind a router provided by your ISP, yes?

1 Like

Yes exactly! I can also make an imgur album if that helps

I tried both OpenVPN & WireGuard, but ideally would want to make OpenVPN work

Ok - So for starters, in your port forwarding screenshot (from your home router), you’re going to want the port number to be 1194, not 1. If there’s a setting for TCP vs UDP, you’re going to want to select UDP.

You can delete the port forwarding in the Beryl - the GL.iNet people take care of that for you.

See if changing the port forward on your ISP router works first. It also may be helpful to connect the client device to a different network (phone tethering or something).

1 Like

Oh my gosh it worked!! Thank you so much! I’ve been up all night trying to figure this out because clearly I’m an amateur!