Setting a home vpn server to use by remote clients to connect to internet

I just purchased a 300M and I am trying to set up a home VPN to permit me to connect my android phone when I am traveling but appear as if I am surfing the internet from my home IP.

I am a newbie and so far I have done the following:

1. connected the router to my provider’s fiber optic modem using a cable and a static IP address.
  2. I was able to create a ddns service from within the fiber optic modem so that should solve the problem if the home IP address were to change. I created a host on no-ip.com for this purpose.
  3. I noted that that OpenVPN defaults to port 1194 and wireguard to 51820. I attempted to forward these ports to the router.
    |Application Name|WAN Connection|WAN Port|LAN Port|Device Name|Internal Client|Protocol|Status|Delete|
    |—|—|—|—|—|—|—|—|—|
    |Customer settings|1_VOIP_TR069_INTERNET_OTHER_R_VID_881|51820~51820|51820~51820|GL-MT300N-V2-69a|192.168.1.128|UDP|ACTIVE|Delete|
    |Customer settings|1_VOIP_TR069_INTERNET_OTHER_R_VID_881|1194~1194|1194~1194|GL-MT300N-V2-69a|192.168.1.128|UDP|ACTIVE|Delete|
    However, when I check to see if the ports are opened using Open Port Check Tool - Test Port Forwarding on Your Router it reports them as being closed. it also reports port 80 as being closed so I am not sure of how to interpret the results.
  4. I created a server and client for both OpenVPN and Wireguard. I started the server and created a client but without success.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Are you connecting to the WAN or LAN port.

What is 192.168.1.128. Is that the address assigned to the WAN side of the 300M.

Were the servers running when you checked if the ports were open.

Cheers.

is your 300M connected directely to the internet (no other router or firewall between)? if so, starting the openvpn server or wireguard server automatically opens ports on the 300M for those services so no forwarding is needed on the 300M but