Strange things happening with GL-AR750S-Ext (Slate)

Hi everyone!

I am new to Gl.Inet brand but very much “not new” to networks. But what happened yesterday left me completely puzzled. I have the above router for few days planning to use it as a second router with LAN coming to my 2 laptops and WiFi for main/guest networks plus automatic failover to 4G via tethering in case my cable goes belly-up. So everything was configured, my main cable router was on 192.168.6.x subnet, new one configured for subnet 192.168.10.x plus more subnets for virtualisations, etc. Everything was working fine, until one day I have asked my ISP to increase the connection speed. They did it remotely but… changed my subnet to 192.168.2.x. And since then my Slate decided to connect to the ISP gateway directly ignoring primary router and switch. So it is competing with my main router, runs it’s own subnet and those two subnets don’t talk to each other. It looks like my main router is now a simple pass-through for Slate. I can change the gateway/IP manually - no problem. But just wondering if someone can shed a light on how that could have happened?

hi, welcome,

for the slate, what is the ip address for the wan and lan?

from the slate, could post the output of traceroute 8.8.8.8 or from the web gui.

could be that your isp device was acting as a modem+router, and now that device was dumbed down to modem, also called straight thru bridge.
often done with voip and/or to prevent double-nat.

might try plugging a computer directly in the isp device and see what happens.