Convexa-B (GL-B1300) Wi-Fi speed 2+ times slower

Hi all.

Just got the router, set it up with the latest OpenWRT (I can revert to the stock if required but prefer not to) and I can see the wireless speed to be around twice as slow as another router I have at home (ASUS RT-AC58U). So when my ASUS shows 500+Mbit/s, the Convexa shows ~200. This is measured with iperf3, so the speed is local and unrelated to my network set up.

I’m new to OpenWRT so please let me know what I can run to help with the diagnosis.
Here’s the wireless config dump (with passwords and ssid’s removed), you can see I’m playing with the locale settings to get different channels and power settings available to me, but no channel change helped so far:

config wifi-device 'radio0'
	option type 'mac80211'
	option hwmode '11g'
	option path 'platform/soc/a000000.wifi'
	option htmode 'HT20'
	option channel 'auto'
	option country 'NZ'

config wifi-iface 'default_radio0'
	option device 'radio0'
	option network 'lan'
	option mode 'ap'
	option key ''
	option ssid ''
	option encryption 'psk2'

config wifi-device 'radio1'
	option type 'mac80211'
	option hwmode '11a'
	option path 'platform/soc/a800000.wifi'
	option htmode 'VHT80'
	option country 'AU'
	option channel '144'

config wifi-iface 'default_radio1'
	option device 'radio1'
	option network 'lan'
	option mode 'ap'
	option key ''
	option ssid ''
	option encryption 'psk2'

config wifi-iface 'wifinet2'
	option ssid ''
	option device 'radio0'
	option mode 'sta'
	option key ''
	option network 'wwan'
	option encryption 'psk2'
	option disabled '1'

Much appreciated for any help!

stock is using proprietary QSDK drivers.
vanilla Openwrt isn’t, hence the wifi speed degradation.

Thanks for your answer, I didn’t know that.
I know that stock FW has lede OWRT backend, but from a very old version (15 I think?). Is it possible to just upgrade the backend with the newest v19 of OWRT?

Cheers!