GL-AXT1800 crash after connecting to a 5Ghz Wifi

Hi all, newbie here.
I’m experiencing troubles with my GL-AXT1800 Slate AX. I connected to a 5Ghz Wifi6 network as a repeater for almost a day, then the router rebooted and connected to the same wifi ssid but in 2.4Ghz.

Now i’m unable to reconnect to the 5Ghz ssid anymore. From the admin web panel i don’t see the 5Ghz ssid, instead using Luci i can see the ssid but when i try to connect to it, the router crash, reboot and get stuck in boot loop and i have to reset it.
My specifics:
FW version: 4.0.1 release 3 updated from web admin upgrade tab
No VPN
No AdGuard
No plugins installed
Set as router

I tried to separate

Can someone help me?

Thanks in advance

Try the 5.4 kernel firmware and it does not crash.

Hi and thanks,
i tried to flash the kernel 5.4:

the result is a bricked router that i had reset using uboot reflash approach.

Can you suggest me another way to install that kernel?

Thanks

Thanks for the suggestion,
the second attempt of flashing kernel 5.4 using Luci succeded.

Now the router can connect to the 5Ghz ssid.

Thanks for the help

1 Like

I have had the exact same experience, very frustrating. The Router kept rebooting to the admin page. I “fixed” it by setting the repeater wifi to 2.4GHz only but it’s not a long term solution. So, my only query is the 4.4.60 kernel is available in normal betas and stable FW but this is only “fixed” in Kernel 5.4.

This is a big issue in my view, the System cannot be seen as ready for prime time out of the blocks. When can we expect to see a beta version of the FW that can be normally upgraded via the WebAdmin and still has the 5G capability please? And, does not need a full reset (i.e. preserves the settings). Currently Kernel 5.4>4.4.60 resets everythinng (I understand from a forum pos).

Thanks a lot!

k.

We have fixed this in kernel 4.4.60 but needs a few days to release the firmware.

Awesome, thanks. Look forward to it :slight_smile: !