GL-MT1300--people have internet when connected to this network but I cannot open web pages

Hello there, a very newbie here. I have a GL-MT1300 (Beryl), and things were working fine when I was using it a few months ago. Yesterday I turned it on and connected to it and entered my home wifi credentials and connected the model to my home wifi. The GL-MT1300 wifi network is up and running now with my vpn and whoever connects to my GL-MT1300 wifi, they do have access to the Internet (through my VPN). However, when I try to connect to the wifi (created by GL-MT1300) from my own laptop (the laptop I used to set up the network and connect to the modem), I am not able to open up any websites or so (but seems like internet is connected as I can still use some remote connection apps). I updated the GL-MT1300 but still am having the issue. when I ping google.com, I don’t get any response but when I ping it’s IP, I get a response.
In summary, when I try to connect to the wifi created by my GL-MT1300 modem from the same laptop I connect to the modem and set it up (using http://192.168.8.1/), I am not able to open up any websites, but whoever else gets connected to the wifi network created by the modem, they have not issue surfing the web. I have no problem browsing the Internet when I am connected to other networks. it just happens with the network created by my modem.
please let me know if you have any idea how to help. thanks.

Do nslookup google.com in terminal/command prompt to check for DNS/DHCP/ipv6 upstream issues

here is what I get for that:

Seems like the DNS being used is not renewed by Windows assuming that other clients are working, should be pointing at the router.
Try ipconfig /release then ipconfig /renew

What I did was to connect to the wifi (that was created by my GL-MT model and had internet issue), and ran the commands you mentioned, I then restarted my laptop and still having the same issue.