GL-MT6000 instead of an ASUS

I need to replace my aging ASUS router that has been rock solid, which is good for my sensitive household. I’m checking out other brands and am interested in the GL-MT6000, but I have concerns. I’m totally new to GL.iNet.

I’m reading that this router has outdated packages in the firmware and is even using and EoL OpenWrt version, which is scary stuff and doesn’t build my confidence. Anyone know if GL.iNet plans on rectifying this? Is this typical development from them?

Is the firmware (truly) out of Beta yet?

I’d appreciate some help with firmware settings, since I can’t play with it. I tried to get answers from the documentation, which is fairly good.

1. Is there really only (2) preset DNS-over-TLS services? Can I put in my own DoT service of choice?

2. Is there a URL filter?

3. Is there a way to download and save configuration settings (like for backup)?

I’d appreciate any thoughts on my situation and if this router might be a good option compared to a new ASUS AX Pro model. I need something stable and secure for the household.

The latest openwrt, wifi is not stable and will not be used in a short time.

1.yes,DNS-over-TLS :NextDNS and Cloudflare,Custom DOT not currently supported.
2.Available to choose from Parental Control or subscription BARK.
3.The luci interface provides backup .

1 Like

Wait until you read what Asus has done then lmao.