Slate AX does not duplicate opvn behaviour for Windows/iOS based solutions?

Sorry to refer to an old thread, but I believe I have a similar issue with a Slate AX as I believe these folks had with other GLiNET devices.

The old thread is this one:

I have an ASUS RT-AX86U at home with an OVPN Server on it (using Merlin FW). I exported the opvn profiles to a Windows Notebook and my iOS devices and can access my home PC with no issues. It works fine with those devices and the remote desktop software and app.

I thought I could just import the opvn profile into the Slate AX and it would duplicate (mimic) the Windows and iOS based behaviours. Unfortunately it does not, the OpenVPN Profile connects just fine, but when I try to use the RDP s/w or App it does not connect to my home PC. In the RDP App I just get “Unable to Connect” and an error code 0x300005e. In the Windows App it is a similar message.

I am not technically sophisticated enough to understand what is in the openvpn file but the thread above suggests to use a “domain/IP based policy”. I am not sure where this setting is on the VPN Server (but will look for it), but I don’t understand why I would need to change anything at all, if the exported ovpn profile is exactly the same for Windows, iOS and for the GLiNET Slate AX?

Other threads I looked at, re openVPN with GLiNET devices:

Thanks!

k.

Just FYI I gave up on openvpn altogether and switched to wireguard. The convenience of running the vpn server on my router was nice, but setting up wireguard on a pi on my home network was fairly straight forward, and I haven’t had any issues since.