Speedtest from Router

I’m new to using the GL-iNet devices and so far just on a travel router but LOVE IT! Looking at switching from my Google Wifi to a mesh system from GL-iNet.

One thing I’m trying to figure out is whether there’s a way to perform a speed test from the Router? Is there a plugin that supports this I could use?

Hi,

Depending on the router and how much free space you have in your router, you should be able to install speedtest-cli.

On the gui plugins look for installing python3 and python3-pip.

Then go on the terminal and do:
ssh root@192.168.8.1 and do the following commands:

pip3 install speedtest-cli
speedtest-cli --no-pre-allocate

It works on GL-AR750S and after installation you should have around 80MB free.

You have also a kind of speed measure on the GUI for the clients but I guess this is what you are looking for.

Regards.
Victor

You can also avoid installing python3 and pip by downloading the Ookla’s speedtest CLI: Speedtest CLI: Internet speed test for the command line

I downloaded their arm binary, untarred it locally, and then scp’d it to the router:

$ scp <pathToTarball>/ookla-speedtest-1.0.0-arm-linux/speedtest root@192.168.8.1:~

From there:

$ ssh root@192.168.8.1
$ ./speedtest

Turns out I’m somehow losing 90% of my throughput on wifi :sob:

@teeohco can this be done on the Opal model? trying to get a on-router test method… would love a gui version but I’ll take a CLI

If so, where do I go to get the file?

I was looking at this earlier ? packages/net/speedtest-netperf at master · openwrt/packages · GitHub

scroll down to linux and there is armel and armhf for you to choose

I tried both options…

Both give parse errors…

Collected errors:
 * opkg_conf_parse_file: /etc/opkg/customfeeds.conf:4: Ignoring invalid line: `https://install.speedtest.net/app/cli/ookla-speedtest-1.1.1-linux-armel.tgz'
 * opkg_install_cmd: Cannot install package https://install.speedtest.net/app/cli/ookla-speedtest-1.1.1-linux-armhf.tgz.